Running in New York (Part 1)

Central Park (11km easy)
Time: 54min. Pace: 4.57/km
Written by: Jess

This was my first time in New York and I was super excited about the idea of running in Central Park. I came to New York for a conference and was conveniently placed in a hotel just two minutes away from the bottom of Central Park so running in Central Park was a no-brainer.

Now the majority of runners go clockwise around the paved loop of the park. I didn’t know this at the time so I just followed the trail of runners (and ended up going the “right” way). I was surprised to find that there was a lane just for runners and a separate lane for cyclists, as well as a separate pavement for pedestrians. This was a runner’s heaven – there were no children or dogs in the way and there was no need to follow a map… All I had to do was follow the trail of runners ahead of me and turn back at half time.

The first few miles were relatively easy, almost entirely flat or downhill. I’m sure there were some hills too but they were not noticeable at all (compared to Hampstead at least)! In Central Park, there was no shortage of foliage and sights.

After about three miles I found myself admiring the views of the El Dorado Building across the Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis Reservoir.


The next few miles was a very pleasant stretch with beautiful lake views on my left as well as peaks at the Central Park skyline.

All in all it was a relaxing run with lots of scenic views. It was a pretty flat course for me and it felt great to just run and explore the park without caring about time or pace.

I can’t wait to spend more time exploring this city when Clinton arrives!

